CV

CV

Kirsty Hanson

63 South Road, Stourbridge, West Midlands, DY8 3YJ

Mobile: 07913 692193

Email: Kirsty.hanson@blueyonder.co.uk

Website: thebibliophilegirluk.com

 Profile
I am currently doing my English and Media degree at Birmingham City University. I am conscientious and hardworking and possess excellent communication and inter-personal skills. I am self-motivated and able to manage my workload effectively and can work independently and as part of a team.
Core Skills
  • Ambitious, creative and dedicated
  • Hard-working and outgoing
  • Possess a full driving license and own a car.
  • Good communication skills
  • Run a website dedicated to reviewing books
  • Good at web design and writing HTML and CSS codes

 

Employment History
Part-Time Swimming Teacher (July 2009 – August 2015)

During my time as working as a swimming teacher, I taught classes that had an age range of four to thirteen. These classes would consist of fourteen children and for each session, I would have to plan the lesson. This shows responsibility as if I didn’t plan lessons, I would not know what to teach that week. To teach a class of children requires patience and I showed a lot of patience whilst teaching. To help me in my lessons, I was often accompanied by an assistant teacher who I would have to give instructions to and this shows my team work skills and my leadership skills. As a swimming teacher, I would also have to attend monthly meetings to report the progress of the children and to learn of any updates that there would be to the swim scheme. I would get to the meeting half an hour early so that I would be ready with my notes and this shows my punctuality which is an important characteristic to have in the work environment.

 

Part-Time Sales associate with T.K. Maxx (May 2016 – Present)

My job at T.K Maxx entails working in a team to present a clean, safe shopping environment for our customers. After two months of having the job, I was put in charge of the ladies department where I have to direct other members of the T.K Maxx team and ensure that other associates on ladieswear are engaging with customers. Since I am in charge of the department, I have shown that I have brilliant leadership skills and as I am talking to customers frequently, I have confidence in my expertise of the store. As a sales associate, I also have to work on the other departments in the store and also on the tills. This means that I have maximum interaction with the customers and it is a big part of my job to make sure that the customers are happy all of the time whilst they are shopping.

 

Volunteer at Mary Stevens Hospice Charity Shop (Three hours every Tuesday, October 2016 – Present)

Whilst volunteering at my local charity bookstore, I used my retail knowledge that I have gained from working at T.K Maxx to help customers. Due to my excellent knowledge of books of all genres, my manager at the bookstore has put me in charge of customer inquiries. This means that whenever a customer needs any recommendations or any help, it is up to me to make sure the customer gets what they want.

Education and Qualifications
Redhill Secondary School, Stourbridge                                          July 2007- May 2012

English Literature GCSE (A*)

English Language GCSE (A*)

Maths GCSE (B)

French GCSE (C)Italian GCSE (A)History GCSE (B)

History GCSE (B)

Music GCSE (C)

Critical Thinking AS level (C)

 

 

 

King Edwards Sixth Form College, Stourbridge            September 2012 – July 2014

AS levels:

English Literature and Language (C)

Communications and Culture (C)

Graphics (C)

 

A Levels

English Literature and Language (C)

Communications and Culture (B)

Graphics (C)

 

Interests and Activities
I have always thought of myself as an enthusiastic and productive person. I work well as part of a team, but I also have the initiative to work independently. I get on well with the public, as is shown by my work with children as a swim teacher and communications with their parents. I have travelled extensively around the world: from Nepal, to New York, San Francisco and Los Angeles to most of Europe. I have hiked the Himalayas, seen Mount Everest and walked the Golden Gate Bridge, each experience adding to my knowledge and appreciation of the world and different cultures.

I have wanted to work in publishing since the age of twelve and I have begun my path to fulfilling this when I began studying at Birmingham City University in September 2016.

One of my biggest interests is my website. I write reviews of all of the books that I read and I get to share my love of them with other book lovers whilst also receiving books off of authors and publishing companies to review. I have had my blog for five months and have already had 30,000 views.

I have always had a passion for reading and I always seem to be spending money on old and new books and I have now acquired myself a room which I use as my library. I love the feeling of walking out of a bookstore, book in hand, knowing that I’m about to immerse myself into new adventures.

 

References are available on request